this is not something that the common reader looks forward to

Donald Richie:

I don’t really have Japanese readers, because so few of my books are translated. Donald Keene’s books are translated, because he is a true authority, and most readers want to be told how to think. I’m in no position to do this. I merely reflect on what I’ve seen; I don’t really have answers. For me, the detail is the most important part; if you’ve understood the detail, you’ve understood everything. This is not something that the common reader looks forward to. So the books that are translated, for instance “The Image Factory,” are books that are highly opinionated: This is what readers want.

Leave a Reply

