confessions

#24 – Maximize Your Potential: Grow Your Expertise, Take Bold Risks & Build an Incredible Career, edited by Jocelyn K. Glei.

14 books in, I’m tired so I give myself permission to write less this week.

I must keep reading and writing. And keep shipping.

The book this week features mini-chapters on four areas that are necessary to cultivate to take charge of your career: “identifying and creating new opportunities, cultivating… expertise over time, building collaborative relationships, and learning how to take risks.”

After reading the book, I have identified 4 areas where I am failing badly.

 

My first F – new skills

“I think the most important skill in the age of flux is the ability to get new skills.”

I don’t have a systematic way of identifying and developing rare and valuable skills. My knowledge is growing, my skills are not.

 

My second F – lack of change

“Change will lead to insight far more often than insight will lead to change.”

I have been doing the same thing and in the same environment for way too long. 

Stagnant.

 

My third F – building relationships

“We live in a connection economy. If you can’t connect with people for them to understand what you have to offer, you’re working in a vacuum and you’re going to lose out.”

I’m used to going it alone and not spending enough time to connect and build relationships with others.

I am too proud.

 

My fourth F – not enough failures

“I require all my students to write a failure résumé. That is, to craft a résumé that summarizes all their biggest screw-ups—personal, professional, and academic. For every failure, each student must describe what he or she learned from that experience.”

My failure resume is lousy.

I’m not failing enough because I am not taking enough risks in areas that are new to me.

I’m playing safe.

*****

I’m sorry this week newsletter is so much about me.

How are you doing in these important areas?


I’m inspired by Mark Zuckerberg’s annual projects and decided to have one of my own. Read a non-fiction book every week and write about it. Subscribe to my newsletter.

Leave a Reply

