a list, a mountain and this is really great

#49 – make good art by neil gaiman

dear kafka,

3 things.

#1 – a list

“The nearest thing I had was a list I made when I was fifteen of everything I wanted to do: to write an adult novel, a children’s book, a comic, a movie; record an audiobook; write an episode of Doctor Who . . . and so on. I didn’t have a career. I just did the next thing on the list.”

i think it’s perfectly to live without making a list of what you want in life.

at the same time, i think this is the perfect time for me to have a new list.

i had items on a list. a dog, fly business class… not too many. these items, money can buy.

i have picked 2 items for my new list:

write a non-fiction book, to be flown First Class or Suites without paying for it or using miles.

these, money can’t buy.

i will act on the first and let the second marinate.

do you have a list? share it with me.

#2 – a mountain

“Something that worked for me was imagining that where I wanted to be—an author, primarily of fiction, making good books, making good comics and supporting myself through my words—was a mountain. A distant mountain. My goal.

And I knew that as long as I kept walking towards the mountain I would be all right. And when I truly was not sure what to do, I could stop, and think about whether it was taking me towards or away from the mountain.”

it’s the perfect time for a mountain.

either: be an inspiring author or a kickass trainer.

more marinate needed.

do you have a mountain? share it with me.

#3 – “This is really great. You should enjoy it.”

Gaiman described this as the best advice given to him over the years.

Advice he did not take because he was worried about the future and things going wrong.

As next month’s Guest Editor of Wired Magazine, Barack Hussein Obama, wrote to introduce the issue:

Now Is the Greatest Time to Be Alive.

let that marinate sit for five minutes before we go to bed and every time we wake up.


Mark Zuckerberg inspired me to start an annual personal project – read a non-fiction book every week and write about it. 

My previous newsletters are here: https://isaiahlim.wordpress.com/category/isaiahlim_newsletter/

Subscribe to my newsletter.

Leave a Reply

